|Reading|

Why is it that after you’ve removed yourself from situations or people that you seemed forced to (or you’re expected to) read between the lines? 

After a recent breakup, I’m sure there are feelings that are still hovering around for both parties. However, there’s always the one person that feels as though they have to pretend their feelings aren’t still there. This one person always expects the other to read between their exterior defense mechanism. 

Why is this? What’s the problem with letting your feelings show if they’re genuine for that person? Espefially if you both know that the current situation you’re in isn’t really what you both want. 

I’ve overcome the need and want to hide behind my feelings. It took me years to discover that hiding behind my feelings only made things worst for me. My attitude would be so horrible for no reason to those who didn’t quite know me. Frankly, I began wanting better for myself, so I released. 

Now at first, I was releasing without a care in the worls about other folks feelings. So a lot of folks were hurt by things I said or did. I had to find that balance to where I would be free of harbored feelings and others would be offended by what I stated. 

This was yet another reason I began my meditation journey. I gave up trying to read between the lines of things and unknowingly forced folks to say what they actually meant by not participating in any mind games. 

Once I located an equal balance in myself, this was very easy to do. I no longer cared about the feelings of others and how they refused to show them. This was annoying one person so much that she began asking me how to find her zen. 

I chuckled. This was something I couldn’t really explain to her. I couldn’t help her with this. Finding that balance is something one has to desire to acheive on their own. 

I’m just happy that I decided to do so because I was on such a destructive path without finding balance in myself. No more reading between the lines for me. Either direct your feelings for me towards me or just leave me be. Either way, I’m happy with me!! 

Author: KaeJaye Xpressions

I am a 2010 Mass Communication and Journalism graduate (BA) of Southeastern Louisiana University. I am also a 2016 English and Creative Writing Graduate (MA) of Southern New Hampshire University. I value words like no other. Words seem to pour out the depths of my soul of which I as a human have not yet dared to venture to. I appreciate pen, because it reaches beyond the boundaries that have been set by my more humanly self. I'm in love with paper or a blank screen, because it is the most beautiful canvas ever created by man.

Leave a Reply

